Music Fans

Join OurStage to discover and listen to new music from great indie artists.

Login or sign up


Get exposure building your fan base and selling music.

Find opportunities through our competitions.

Artist Sign Up



Video Playback Error

The Adobe Flash Player is required to watch videos on this page

About Idiot

middletown, CT

Idiot’s lead singer and guitarist, Matt “Mumbles” Nyberg, met bassist, Jeff Yanchek, while studying at Berklee College of Music in Boston, Massachusetts. Upon graduation, Nyberg and Yanchek hooked up with drummer, Sean Lynch, and formed Idiot :). After fine tuning their sound, they began performing regularly in the NYC and CT area, playing such hot spots as “Arlene’s Grocery”, “Kenny’s Castaways’s and “Ace of Clubs” in NY. As well as "Cousin Larry's", "Up or On the Rocks" "The Crazy Donkey" and many more in CT and Long Island.

Idiot is currently broadening their reach, performing in neighboring states and counties. Their live performances have gained the attention of local New York Publications and trade magazines. Volume 8, Issue 4 of Aural Fix states, “This three piece brings a mix of heavy intense riffs, amazing melodic vocals and insane screams!” Mike Russo of the Baldwin Herald says, “Though they only have three members, the band commands such power and stage presence, it makes it sound like there are twice as many musicians on stage.”

Recently Idiot's live show caught the attention of The Hartford Advocates Dan Barry who stated, " I was blown away by Idiot, whose heavy riffing shotgun-blasted away any whiff of insincerity in their name. "

As a result of Idiot's commanding live act they won The Battle of the Bands competition for a venue called The Space in Hamden, CT which included 50 other acts from the area. Additionally, Idiot recently placed in the top ten for Long Island's Good Time's Magazine Battle of the Bands competition which included over 100 bands. Currently Idiot :) is swiftly advancing their way through CT's radio 104.1 Battle of the Bands turning heads with each new performance.

With their singles, "Lock Jaw" & “Frankie Sharp”, already gaining attention on AOL Radio and college broadcast stations; Idiot now focuses on mainstream radio and the national stage.

Vox & Guitar & Keys: Mumbles
Drums: Sean Lynch
Bass & Keys: Jeff Yanchek


Best-of-20 Best-of-100 Top-10 Top-10 Top-10 Top-10 Top-40

More About The Artist

Portrait of Idiot