Music Fans

Join OurStage to discover and listen to new music from great indie artists.

Login or sign up


Get exposure building your fan base and selling music.

Find opportunities through our competitions.

Artist Sign Up



Video Playback Error

The Adobe Flash Player is required to watch videos on this page
Portrait of Unsparing Sea

Unsparing Sea

About Unsparing Sea

Lakewood, OH

Unsparing Sea make plaintive, classically adorned indie rock and folk music with layers of lush instrumentation including cello, vibraphone, accordion, banjo and trumpet and sing songs about wolves and weddings, kings and queens, crowns, teeth, bones, rings and other places where the spirit resides.

Formed in 2007 by Nashville native J.R. Bennett and cellist Tara Klein the band self-released it’s debut LP, ‘A Cloud in the Cathedral’ in 2008 to the surprise of many in the local Cleveland music scene. Klein, a classically trained cellist who has performed with artist ranging from Kanye West to Foo Fighters and who regularly performs in the Akron Symphony Orchestra, provided the perfect confection of eerie swells and experimental droning to compliment Bennett’s unique songwriting. The hand-packaged CD soon started to circulate and began to receive positive reviews from national magazines like Skyscraper and popular websites & music blogs and sparked invitations to play at festivals like, North by Northeast in Toronto, while local shows were regularly filling up. The band was called one of “10 bands to Watch” by The Free Times magazine and the album was named a finalist for an 8th Annual Independent Music Award.

The “In the Crystal Canyon EP”, is the 2009 follow-up to Unsparing Sea’s debut. Recorded in the winter of 2008 at Mammoth Cave studios in Akron, Ohio by Mr. Tim Gerak, guitar player for the highly influential Ohio band ‘6 Parts 7’, it represents the first batch of 14 songs from the ‘In the Diamond Caverns’ sessions. Of the four songs contained on the EP, two are from the forthcoming LP ‘In the Diamond Caverns’ to be released in late summer 2009, and two tracks are B-Side selections from the ‘Caverns’ sessions. The new work represents the natural progression of a band that is determined to never rest in one place for too long. The current line-up featuring bassist Mike Marks, drummer Ryan Kelly and multi-instrumentalist Sarah Leitten on saw, accordion and glockenspiel, will be on tour throughout summer 2009. Unsparing Sea made some waves in 2008, but as one early reviewer has noted, the new songs “represent the work of a band poised to start surprising more than just the local Clevelanders.”

More About The Artist

Portrait of Unsparing Sea
Unsparing Sea